Life Lessons Learned From Blogging

26 Jul

I’ve been blogging for just over half a year now, and it occurs to me how much I’ve learned in that time. Not only just about food, which has been amazing but additionally I’ve made a fabulous connection to the newly formed #MNFoodBloogers Group, who I LOVE.

Never in a million years did I think I would find such a wonderful, supportive, smart, fun group of people when I started this blog. (I’ve given a shout out to a few of them in my earlier food blogger posts.) I feel incredibly blessed to be a part of this amazing community and I enjoy learning from so many of them.

Plus, if I thought I was a foodie BEFORE, I realize now how much more I have to learn and how truly fun it is to talk to others who are passionate about food.(And I mean REALLY PASSIONATE.) I’ve also enjoyed trying new foods, like Lamb Brain from Saffron (pictured above).

I originally started this blog after taking a career assessment. This assessment indicated many things but the strongest career path that emerged was a chef. At first I laughed, because I don’t cook well under stress in my kitchen, much less trying to run a restaurant, but it got me thinking. I realized that food is a very big part of my life. I always blamed the big Italian family for making food a priority, or the fact that I’m “food motivated” but really underneath all that is a genuine passion and interest in food, the food systems, nutrition and trying new things.

Through this whole process I’ve rekindled my joy of cooking for my family as well. As I’ve mentioned I’m not very good at cooking under pressure as of yet, although, with more practice I’ve become better and better. I do however, really enjoy cooking Italian family recipes from scratch, the ones that take 4-5 hours to complete. I’m also determined to perfect my whole wheat bread recipe. I’ve made it a personal goal to begin to share recipes from my Italian family, and maybe a few from my husband’s family, if they aren’t all trade secrets.

Additionally, I’m embarking on an adventure to try to cook one new recipe a week. Because of all my talented Food Blogger peers, I have my choice of where to begin, but from reading many other foodie blogs I’ve discovered so many recipes that look easy, tasty and healthy, all of which are important to me. (I’ll be posting my adventures, which hopefully end up more successful than not.)

2 Responses to “Life Lessons Learned From Blogging”

  1. Jen Vertanen July 26, 2011 at 7:29 am #

    I’ve only been blogging for a month or so now but can already tell just how special the MN Food Bloggers are and have already had invaluable help from a few of them :). I look forward to getting to know you and others so much more…I feel like I’ve found where I fit in, lol.

  2. Mellissa July 26, 2011 at 10:29 am #

    What I love the most about blogging is the community and meeting amazing women like you! Finding like minded people is hard and I love meeting others who love food as much as I do.

Leave a Reply

