Figs

27 Jun

I’m embarrassed to say that up until a few years ago I’d never really eaten a fig. Aside from an occasional fig newton, I didn’t give them much thought, until I went over to a friend’s house and she was serving them with goat cheese and prosciutto. They were spectacular, and I promptly stuffed my face. Then I went to my local grocery store and was disappointed to find out that not only do most stores not carry them, but secondly if you do find them they are only in season for a short time, at least in MN.

So tonight, I’m wandering though Whole Foods trying to decide what to eat, and whamo! There are the figs. I think I actually danced in the aisle. But they are so yummy. Even my 14 month old thought they were pretty good stuff, my seven-year old told me they were too sweet. ( this from the kid that will eat an entire bowl of ice cream if left to her own devices.)

This is what we made with them tonight.

Sliced mozzarella

Sliced Figs

Toasted Baguette

and a generous helping of prosciutto.

One Response to “Figs”

  1. minneville July 12, 2011 at 7:00 am #

    this must be a great combination! i’ve only tried melon with prosciutto! As for figs, I first tried them two years ago on a street in Kashgar (in far west China), where they are merely sold as street food to be eaten right away! It was delicious!

Leave a Reply

