Vacation post

27 Mar

I was on vacation this week for a few days, which partly explains why the blogging didn’t happen this week. Sorry!

We went to stay with my sister who lives close to the Wisconsin Dells, and we had a marvelous time.

I had two meals that I felt compelled to photograph and share, even though it isn’t Twin Cities based food. I know you love me and will read and comment anyway!

The first was a steak and scallops combo at this cute little place in the Dells that I would imagine is over-looked by the tourist traffic and frequented mostly by locals (including my sister’s family, which is how I ended up there). It was good food and a very nice ambiance and fantastic company. I had a filet mignon over mashed potatoes covered in gorgonzola sauce and steamed veggies, and two big juicy scallops also covered in the gorgonzola sauce.

The second noteworthy “meal” of my trip was this Bloody Mary. It was a meal in a glass complete with a strip of bacon, the typical garnishes of olives, celery, pickled asparagus and brussel sprout and last but not least a piece of pepper jack cheese. ( I was in Wisconsin after all!)

Thanks again to my sister and her family for hosting us and showing us the town!

Stay tuned for the Carr Valley cheese post.

6 Responses to “Vacation post”

  1. Amanda T March 30, 2011 at 10:40 am #

    Bacon in a Bloody Mary! That’s a new one to me. I’ll have to surprise my hubby with that next time.

    • Twin Cities Foodie March 30, 2011 at 11:40 pm #

      Yeah. That was a new one for me too. Cheese too, but not surprising considering that I WAS in Wisconsin. 🙂

  2. Keane March 31, 2011 at 11:46 pm #

    Now that’s a Bloody Mary I can get behind!

  3. Robyn April 1, 2011 at 12:24 am #

    I love Carr Valley cheese, and I love Bloodies. That meal in a class looks fabulous, but the bacon presentation is a tad limp. I wonder if there isn’t a better way to include it. H’mm. Might a good Sunday morning project around home.

    • Twin Cities Foodie April 1, 2011 at 1:31 am #

      The bacon was pretty lackluster. If I made it at home there are a few tweaks I would make. It was a dive bar afterall.

Leave a Reply

