Be’wiched

22 Mar

I like sandwiches, you know, as much as the next guy. I was told I HAD to go to Be’wiched and try them out. I did and I was a bit disappointed. The sandwiches were fine, good even. I just let my expectations of what  really good sandwich could be get in the way of the fact that it is hard to feel super glamorous eating a sandwich. I ordered a Tuna Confit sandwich and a bowl of soup and couscous to share.

My husband had their famous reuben,  which he seemed to enjoy although he was a bit unimpressed by the flavor of the meat. which by all accounts is a big part of a reuben sandwich.

Maybe I’m making an unfair judgement, since I’m not a sandwich person. That is to say, I like ’em just fine, and my sandwich was good. It just wasn’t knock your socks off, “best sandwich of my life” good. I think I would have been equally satisfied getting a hoagie from Davanni’s.

Additionally, I was rather unimpressed with both the soup and couscous sides we tried as well. The soup was your basic cream based soup, but nothing spectacular and the couscous was lacking in flavor.

To top it all off the service we had left much to be desired and was actually rather off-putting

Now, after all that, knowing me, I’ll probably go try them again. I see potential as a decent lunch place and as I’ve mentioned in earlier posts I don’t like to offer up a review based solely on one visit. Every one has an off day, and sometimes it seems a bit unfair to judge something without any other first hand experience.

I’ll be back, and I’ll have a (hopefully more positive) update!

2 Responses to “Be’wiched”

  1. Keane March 22, 2011 at 10:46 pm #

    That tuna sandwich looks pretty nice! Does it actually have big hunks of tuna on it or are my eyes deceiving me?

    • Twin Cities Foodie March 23, 2011 at 8:58 am #

      It does indeed have big chunks of tuna. Keane, I’d love a second opinion.

Leave a Reply

