Split Pea Goodness

27 Feb

As most of you know I’m not much inclined to cook, but every once in a while I get a bee in my bonnet to want to cook a specific something, usually something I’m craving.(Although, I’m usually helping out my husband cook.) Tonight it was split pea soup.

First we started with olive oil, garlic and onions

Then we added the smoked ham hocks.

Let those caramelize at the bottom, which is a tricky skill I’m not good at. I have very little patience when I cook. Part of the reason I let the experts step in.

Then we added the veggie broth/water. And the three cups of peas.

Brought that all to a boil, stirring occasionally (oh yeah, and added some carrots, a wee bit late, as I forgot them!)

then waited….more patience requited from me.

Finally! Its done and it smells and tastes heavenly!

Leave a Reply

