Cafe Twenty Eight

13 Feb

As a general rule, I try to never write a review of a restaurant based on one visit. I feel that usually that isn’t an entirely fair assessment, considering sometimes a place is having an off day, or especially when a place first opens, it tends to be all about quality control which can slip after a while. These and other reasons are why I try to go to a place a few times before forming a solid opinion. Well, I’m breaking my own rule. I was at Cafe Twenty Eight yesterday for lunch and it was great! I ordered the pear salad, expecting for $10 that I would get a small to medium-sized salad, decent for a light lunch or snack.

I was completely shocked when a WHOLE salad showed up. Not only was the portion size generous, but it was liberally covered in blue cheese, pistachios and pear. It was truly amazing. I’ve gotten so used to the “standard” miniscule portions that pass for salad most places, that I was literally so impressed with that alone I had to mention it. That wasn’t the only reason I felt inspired to write about this salad. Additionally the pistachios were fresh, hadn’t been dried out and over salted like in most places. There was a ton of blue cheese, so I had enough for every mouthful and the pear was in little shredded bits to I could have a bit of everything in every bite. AMAZING. It really is the small things in life, and this salad made my day yesterday.

In my haste to devour this delicious salad I didn’t do it justice with the picture, but they have  lovely pictures on their website.

I will be going back, and I’m sure I’ll be taking a better camera next time.

Leave a Reply

