Dim Sum, Part I

19 Jan

Dim Sum in the Twin Cities seems harder and harder to come by. Mai Village recently stopped doing it as it is a huge staff and food effort, and let’s be honest, how many times a year do you go out for dim sum? Using my family as my measuring stick, we go out for dim sum maybe three times a year. For restaurant who subsist mainly on bringing in business for dim sum, that is sadly nowhere near enough. Especially considering how staff intensive it is to do it well. This has been clearly shown by the closings of Yummy’s, Mai Le Hoa, and again most recently Mai Village tossing in the towel on dim sum. (Mai Village is still serving their regular menu, so don’t panic.) I know a few other places in town do dim sum, but I haven’t been. That’s one of the reason’s I’ve titled this Dim Sum, part I plan to go to as many Dim Sum places as I can in the next few months and then write-up a more comprehensive review of who does it well, and what I’d like to see improved.

Additionally I’ve been thinking about how many times the average person goes to dim sum in a year. As I said earlier I think this is the reason that it’s hard to keep good dim sum in the Twin Cities, What do you think?

2 Responses to “Dim Sum, Part I”

  1. Diana McKeown January 26, 2011 at 1:44 pm #

    We love Dim Sum too. Introduced to it from my husband’s aunt and uncle who spent a year in China. We used to go to Mai Le Hoa until it closed, then Yummy….We did find the best place recently though. Mandarin Kitchen at 8700 block of Lyndale. It was amazing! Leave time check out the live eels and other things in the front case. We ran into another friend who goes at least once a month.

    • Twin Cities Foodie January 27, 2011 at 5:25 am #

      I’m ashamed to say I haven’t made it there yet, but everyone I’ve talked to says it’s great! Thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

