I-talian Food, Part II

18 Jan

This is me at Buca. Yes, I was invited, which is why I’m there. Yes, this is typically what I look like when at the generic Americanized-Italian restaurants. No, I have no plans to return in the future until, inevitably, I’m invited again.

It really isn’t just the food, although that is a large part of it. (See I-talian Food part I for further explanation) It’s also the feel of the place, the whole ambiance, if one could call it that. Stereotypical mobster photos, faux vintage advertising posters and famous Italian actors/musicians plastered across every possible surface hardly constitutes decor in my book.

Ah, well. To each his own. I just stumbled across this photo and thought it was too good not to share.

In all honesty, I shouldn’t really pick on Italian restaurants. I’m sure part of the fun of owning a restaurant is decorating it, but I feel like there is a line between fun and garish. This makes me wonder if other “ethnic” restaurants annoy people of those cultures in the way that I’m annoyed by Olive Garden.

Leave a Reply

