Oysters

15 Jan

There is really no rational explanation for why I love oysters as much as I do. I mean if you really look at them, slimy and grey, usually cold, it doesn’t really appeal to most people’s palate. In fact if you were describing a food I’d never tasted that way, I doubt I’d want to try it after that description.

Rational or not, I am convinced I could probably eat half my weight in oysters if you let me. Yes, I admit it. I would commit a kumamoto genocide, because those little guys are tasty. I’ve had some really great oysters at Oceanaire, Sea Change and a handful of other places. Although, I’m pretty picky about where I’ll go, since oysters should be super fresh, obviously.

I now have even more reason to eat them as I recently read Oysters are an excellent source of vitamins A, B1(thiamin), B2 (riboflavin), B3 (niacin), C (ascorbic acid) and D (calciferol). (Read more)

Additionally, I’m learning more about what kinds of oysters I like. I tend to enjoy west coast oysters, although I like to throw in a few east coast varieties for the briny flavor. As mentioned above my favorite kind is Kumamoto oysters, they have a sweet, almost watermelon flavor to them. Delicious!

Leave a Reply

